Zionsville Times Sentinel

February 12, 2014

Boone not among counties declared eligible for disaster loans

By Rod Rose For the Times Sentinel
Zionsville Times Sentinel

---- — Boone County was not among 19 counties now eligible for U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans to repair damage from a Nov. 17 tornado outbreak.

Gov. Mike Pence had, on Dec. 23, appealed a Dec. 11 denial by the Federal Emergency Management Agency of his request for disaster assistance. Pence's office announced Thursday that low-interest federal loans would be available to residents and businesses in Daviess, Fountain and Howard counties, which were in the original request, as well as Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Dubois, Grant, Greene, Knox, Martin, Miami, Montgomery, Parke, Pike, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vermillion, and Warren counties.

Two EF-2 tornadoes destroyed or caused major damage to 191 homes, damaged another 886, and injured 32 people in Howard county.

"Boone County did not have enough damage to qualify to be part of the application for low-interest disaster loans," said John Erickson of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security.

See Wednesday's Times Sentinel for the full story.