Zionsville Times Sentinel

Commentary

October 5, 2011

Posture Up

Zionsville — I remember when I first saw my wife. She was sitting on the floor of the university gymnasium, surrounded by 43 other students, but she stood out for sure. Not only because she was lovely, I didn’t notice that until I investigated further, but she was sitting bolt upright, with amazing posture. Everyone else was doing what you are supposed to do when sitting on a hardwood floor…slouching forward, or leaning back on their hands to succumb to a more comfortable position. How she was sitting just looked correct.

It would be nice to live life with your shoulders back and not need to think or do anything about them, but correct posture is not automatic — it is developed and maintained.  As long as you live on this earth we must accept two truths. First, gravity is present, constant, and only has one job: to throw everything towards the ground at 9.8 meters/second. Every time you intend to move or get out of a laying down position, you will be required accommodate this force.  

The second is that life happens in front of you, and as a result, at the end of the day you will be forced out of position. Think about it:  the things that require the best of you all day long…your children, your food, your computer, your steering wheel, your smart phone, this paper-everything is drawing you forward, rounding out your chest and      shoulders, and creating stress on your neck and back. It is getting even worse since texting has become a primary form of communication, and those little devices, with their tiny screens and keys require the worst posture possible to operate. Seriously, look around at the terrible body position of the youth. Where is a nun when you need them?

Throughout your day and your life, as your body tires your posture changes and heads toward the ground.

Text Only
Commentary
  • Travel track record remains 'perfect' I may have mentioned I have a track record for traveling to places at "interesting" times: hurricane, monsoon and rattlesnake seasons, for example. My track record continues to build. I was in Seattle for measles season. OK, it wasn't so much a season as an "exposure."

    April 16, 2014

  • Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week. Of 50,000 public school teachers graded by their principals, less than one-half of 1 percent were deemed “ineffective.”

    April 16, 2014

  • Spring into warm-weather activities safely Of course. Mother Nature finally supplies a day of sunshine and warmth inspiring kiddos to run outside; moments later a bike wreck brings the fun to a screeching halt. Fortunately, a bandage and a kiss remedy the skinned knee. The incident also offers this mom an important reminder. After a winter fighting bitter cold and piles of snow we are all anxious to finally get outside. In the rush to enjoy days of sunshine, pausing to recap a few safety rules ensures the days go smoothly.

    April 16, 2014

  • Add 'ups' to your spring to prevent Injury Welcome back spring! We all missed you so much and can’t wait to be outside soaking up every wonderful thing you have to offer. Our bodies are ready for the activity, fresh air, and a healthy level of UV rays. I can’t wait to mulch, bike, plant, 5k, swing, dig ... well, maybe not mulch. As you fly recklessly into your spring favorites and to-do lists, use these tips to care for your body to maximize your efforts and keep you safe.

    April 16, 2014

  • No Internet for blind date checks in Dark Ages A friend posted on her Facebook last week that it was her 23rd anniversary. That number in itself was pretty noteworthy in this day and age, but what made it noteworthy for me was that she was married to a man she met on a blind date.

    April 16, 2014

  • Anything goes at Beef & Boards Eighty years ago native Hoosier Cole Porter wrote the music and lyrics for “Anything Goes.” Six days ago it opened at Beef & Boards dinner theater. The show, which is a fun, music-filled voyage aboard the SS American, proves yet again that there is more than corn in Indiana.

    April 9, 2014

  • House Ethics Committee faces first major probe since 1997 Steering lawmakers through a rewrite of the state’s criminal code won House Judiciary Chairman Greg Steuerwald bipartisan accolades this year.

    April 9, 2014

  • Frontier Airlines fouls, strikes out I've been fortunate to have traveled frequently — mostly in a past life, prior to returning to the newspaper business. I knew things had changed, but I'd flown since 9-11 and thought I was pretty much up to speed on policies when I traveled to Washington state at the end of March.

    April 9, 2014

  • To save or not to save ash trees? Since arriving in the United States around 15 years ago, the Emerald Ash Borer has proven to be a devastating pest of green and white ash. To date, it has killed millions of ash trees and, if left untreated, appears to result in 100 percent mortality of infested trees.

    April 9, 2014

  • Eating as if life depends on it Back in the spring of 2008, I was fortunate to have heard two nationally respected authors speak in Indy.

    April 9, 2014

Order Times Sentinel photos


Photos from April 2014

Facebook
Twitter Updates
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide