Zionsville Times Sentinel

Commentary

March 14, 2012

Saving at a turtle speed

Zionsville — Hypermiling hit its heyday back in 2008 — also the year the term was coined — when gas prices hit $4/gallon during the recession.

As fuel prices climb once more, you may again hear the term and are likely to run across some hypermilers. Some who don’t flinch at $60 fill-ups (my 2004 Ford van has hit more than $80 for its 22 gallons of stimulant) may find hypermilers a bit annoying. But we are just trying to stretch out our mileage.

Hypermilers don’t drive like the average American driver with quick starts and racing speeds. We also don’t come to a screeching halt at stoplights. We do obey all laws, and drive well within AAA recommendations for safe driving. It’s the average American driver who doesn’t.

Hypermiling is a cost-conscious effort as well as a challenging game of Beat My Best MPG or BMBMPG. Everyone can choose their own rules, and there are many options on the web. I have just three basics.

1. No jackrabbit starts. This is hard for me with a V-8 engine that was made before there were such concerns about mileage. Knowing there is power in my minivan, I find it difficult to sit next to a sporty convertible at a red light, knowing I could blow it away… (Yes, I’ve done it in the past). Now I’m guided by more than a quick chuckle at a stoplight. I know that such jack-rabbit starts not only cost me real money each time I race away, but also send a needless surge of toxic emissions into the air for us to breathe.

Instead, I slowly power down on the gas pedal, watching my tachometer. For years, I had no idea what a tachometer was. However, in 2008, someone told me that by watching the tach and my driving habits, I could achieve better mileage. As I accelerate, the tach should not go above two (or 2,000 RPM). This provides slower starts, less gas waste, better mileage. In general, the lower the RPMs at any speed, the less gas is being used.

Text Only
Commentary
  • Ruling on same-sex law challenge may be sign When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn’t resonate with those who know Young well.

    April 23, 2014

  • Living with toddlers easier than teens A while back I watched a young mother trying to hold it together in the grocery store while her toddler stubbornly refused to be anything more than a cranky toddler. I felt for her as I looked back on the toddler years.

    April 23, 2014

  • Time to think about spring crabgrass control Crabgrass is one of the most prevalent weeds in Indiana lawns; however, it is also fairly simple to control. There are two main ways to prevent or control an infestation: cultural and chemical control.

    April 23, 2014

  • Two steps forward, one step back In 1969, Time Magazine wrote about a river on fire. It was the story of Cleveland’s Cuyahoga River that had burned frequently since the turn of the century.

    April 23, 2014

  • Travel track record remains 'perfect' I may have mentioned I have a track record for traveling to places at "interesting" times: hurricane, monsoon and rattlesnake seasons, for example. My track record continues to build. I was in Seattle for measles season. OK, it wasn't so much a season as an "exposure."

    April 16, 2014

  • Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week. Of 50,000 public school teachers graded by their principals, less than one-half of 1 percent were deemed “ineffective.”

    April 16, 2014

  • Spring into warm-weather activities safely Of course. Mother Nature finally supplies a day of sunshine and warmth inspiring kiddos to run outside; moments later a bike wreck brings the fun to a screeching halt. Fortunately, a bandage and a kiss remedy the skinned knee. The incident also offers this mom an important reminder. After a winter fighting bitter cold and piles of snow we are all anxious to finally get outside. In the rush to enjoy days of sunshine, pausing to recap a few safety rules ensures the days go smoothly.

    April 16, 2014

  • Add 'ups' to your spring to prevent Injury Welcome back spring! We all missed you so much and can’t wait to be outside soaking up every wonderful thing you have to offer. Our bodies are ready for the activity, fresh air, and a healthy level of UV rays. I can’t wait to mulch, bike, plant, 5k, swing, dig ... well, maybe not mulch. As you fly recklessly into your spring favorites and to-do lists, use these tips to care for your body to maximize your efforts and keep you safe.

    April 16, 2014

  • No Internet for blind date checks in Dark Ages A friend posted on her Facebook last week that it was her 23rd anniversary. That number in itself was pretty noteworthy in this day and age, but what made it noteworthy for me was that she was married to a man she met on a blind date.

    April 16, 2014

  • Anything goes at Beef & Boards Eighty years ago native Hoosier Cole Porter wrote the music and lyrics for “Anything Goes.” Six days ago it opened at Beef & Boards dinner theater. The show, which is a fun, music-filled voyage aboard the SS American, proves yet again that there is more than corn in Indiana.

    April 9, 2014

Order Times Sentinel photos


Photos from April 2014

Facebook
Twitter Updates
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide