Zionsville Times Sentinel

Commentary

October 31, 2012

Laughing the night away

I have never seen a Church Basement Ladies show at Beef and Boards, but have heard good things. So naturally, when I decided to go see “Away in the Basement, a Church Basement Ladies Christmas,” I had high expectations.

And this show didn’t let them down.

This is the third installment in the comedy series and is set in 1959 on the day of the Sunday School Christmas Program, five years before the original show. In the midst of holiday preparations, the ladies in their witty, down-to-earth style are creating their own memories from Christmases past and present. Pastor Gunderson, who lost his wife two years before, eagerly assists the lovely new parish worker in charge of the Christmas program, set to take place that evening.

As the children rehearse in the sanctuary, several ladies of the kitchen are finishing up the treat bags, while the others put the final touches on the Nativity. As they mend old bathrobe costumes and discuss the politics of who’s going to play the various roles, little do the ladies know what surprises are in store for them. Known for their hilarious antics and subtle charm, they are once again called upon to step in and save the day.

My favorite character by a mile was Karen Pappas as Mavis Gilmerson. She was hilarious and wasn’t shy even with all the embarrassing stunts her character did during the entire show. Katherine Proctor as Karin Engelson was a perfect fit for her matriarchal character. The stage was on point with what I thought a church basement in 1959 would look like. If I had a complaint it would be that Timmy Hays’ choreography on some of the routines could have used some pizazz. Some of the numbers looked like a group of ladies impatiently waiting in line rather than a sing-and-dance routine.

But all in all, I thought the show was funny and great for all ages.

Away in the Basement will be on the Beef and Boards stage through Nov. 25. Tickets range from $37 to $60 and include Chef Odell Ward’s buffet, coffee, tea and lemonade. Discounts are available for children and groups of 20 or more.

Call the Beef and Boards Box Office at 872-9664 for reservations. Box office hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday through Sunday, and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays. For more information, including a show schedule, visit www.beefandboards.com.

1
Text Only
Commentary
  • Ruling on same-sex law challenge may be sign When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn’t resonate with those who know Young well.

    April 23, 2014

  • Living with toddlers easier than teens A while back I watched a young mother trying to hold it together in the grocery store while her toddler stubbornly refused to be anything more than a cranky toddler. I felt for her as I looked back on the toddler years.

    April 23, 2014

  • Time to think about spring crabgrass control Crabgrass is one of the most prevalent weeds in Indiana lawns; however, it is also fairly simple to control. There are two main ways to prevent or control an infestation: cultural and chemical control.

    April 23, 2014

  • Two steps forward, one step back In 1969, Time Magazine wrote about a river on fire. It was the story of Cleveland’s Cuyahoga River that had burned frequently since the turn of the century.

    April 23, 2014

  • Travel track record remains 'perfect' I may have mentioned I have a track record for traveling to places at "interesting" times: hurricane, monsoon and rattlesnake seasons, for example. My track record continues to build. I was in Seattle for measles season. OK, it wasn't so much a season as an "exposure."

    April 16, 2014

  • Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week. Of 50,000 public school teachers graded by their principals, less than one-half of 1 percent were deemed “ineffective.”

    April 16, 2014

  • Spring into warm-weather activities safely Of course. Mother Nature finally supplies a day of sunshine and warmth inspiring kiddos to run outside; moments later a bike wreck brings the fun to a screeching halt. Fortunately, a bandage and a kiss remedy the skinned knee. The incident also offers this mom an important reminder. After a winter fighting bitter cold and piles of snow we are all anxious to finally get outside. In the rush to enjoy days of sunshine, pausing to recap a few safety rules ensures the days go smoothly.

    April 16, 2014

  • Add 'ups' to your spring to prevent Injury Welcome back spring! We all missed you so much and can’t wait to be outside soaking up every wonderful thing you have to offer. Our bodies are ready for the activity, fresh air, and a healthy level of UV rays. I can’t wait to mulch, bike, plant, 5k, swing, dig ... well, maybe not mulch. As you fly recklessly into your spring favorites and to-do lists, use these tips to care for your body to maximize your efforts and keep you safe.

    April 16, 2014

  • No Internet for blind date checks in Dark Ages A friend posted on her Facebook last week that it was her 23rd anniversary. That number in itself was pretty noteworthy in this day and age, but what made it noteworthy for me was that she was married to a man she met on a blind date.

    April 16, 2014

  • Anything goes at Beef & Boards Eighty years ago native Hoosier Cole Porter wrote the music and lyrics for “Anything Goes.” Six days ago it opened at Beef & Boards dinner theater. The show, which is a fun, music-filled voyage aboard the SS American, proves yet again that there is more than corn in Indiana.

    April 9, 2014

Order Times Sentinel photos


Photos from April 2014

Facebook
Twitter Updates
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide