Zionsville Times Sentinel

Commentary

August 28, 2013

A spirit of creating inspiring community spaces

Some of Zionsville's talented residents will be represented at the inaugural White River Arts & Music Fest, aka WARMfest, in Broad Ripple this coming weekend. The three-day event, which will run 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Saturday, Sunday and Monday at Broad Ripple Park, 1550 Broad Ripple Ave., will "promote environmental responsibility, independent business and artisans, and sustainable goods and services through the magic of music, art and culture." It fuses Broad Ripple Music Festival, Indie Arts & Vintage Marketplace, recycling and several activities on the White River. I try to be environmentally conscious; I like to support local business when I can; and I love music, so I was intrigued by the ever-growing event when I first became aware of it. After talking to Dan Ripley, the inspiration behind WARMfest, I'm even more interested. A resident, boater and fisherman on the White River in Broad Ripple for 20 years, Ripley has a vision of restoring the White River to its grandeur of a century ago. His mission is to educate the community to envision the river as a recreational and visually appealing natural resource. To accomplish this, he created a nonprofit entity, the Carl G. Fisher Society, named for the principal founder of Indianapolis Motor Speedway who had many other achievements to his name and whose entrepreneurial spirit inspired Ripley. But, the nonprofit CGFS needs funds to reach its goals. While doing some research, Ripley discovered Broad Ripple Park was a privately owned amusement park during parts of the 19th and 20th centuries and was known as the Coney Island of the Midwest. With that revelation and a background in the nightclub and arts and antique businesses, Ripley soon came up with the idea for WARMfest. He hopes not only to maximize awareness, but also raise funds to clean up the White River and invest in it so more people can enjoy it. He's thinking docks, water taxi service, full-service marina, boardwalks and vistas, and potentially activities like a zip line park. Though focused first on the .75-mile Broad Ripple shoreline, he hopes the idea can be replicated on other areas of the river. "The purpose is really one of restoration more than development," Ripley said. But a byproduct of WARMfest will be exposure and profits for many area artists and businesses. I was delighted to learn some Zionsville residents will be on hand to make WARMfest a success. See Wednesday's Times Sentinel for the full story.

1
Text Only
Commentary
  • Ruling on same-sex law challenge may be sign When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn’t resonate with those who know Young well.

    April 23, 2014

  • Living with toddlers easier than teens A while back I watched a young mother trying to hold it together in the grocery store while her toddler stubbornly refused to be anything more than a cranky toddler. I felt for her as I looked back on the toddler years.

    April 23, 2014

  • Time to think about spring crabgrass control Crabgrass is one of the most prevalent weeds in Indiana lawns; however, it is also fairly simple to control. There are two main ways to prevent or control an infestation: cultural and chemical control.

    April 23, 2014

  • Two steps forward, one step back In 1969, Time Magazine wrote about a river on fire. It was the story of Cleveland’s Cuyahoga River that had burned frequently since the turn of the century.

    April 23, 2014

  • Travel track record remains 'perfect' I may have mentioned I have a track record for traveling to places at "interesting" times: hurricane, monsoon and rattlesnake seasons, for example. My track record continues to build. I was in Seattle for measles season. OK, it wasn't so much a season as an "exposure."

    April 16, 2014

  • Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week. Of 50,000 public school teachers graded by their principals, less than one-half of 1 percent were deemed “ineffective.”

    April 16, 2014

  • Spring into warm-weather activities safely Of course. Mother Nature finally supplies a day of sunshine and warmth inspiring kiddos to run outside; moments later a bike wreck brings the fun to a screeching halt. Fortunately, a bandage and a kiss remedy the skinned knee. The incident also offers this mom an important reminder. After a winter fighting bitter cold and piles of snow we are all anxious to finally get outside. In the rush to enjoy days of sunshine, pausing to recap a few safety rules ensures the days go smoothly.

    April 16, 2014

  • Add 'ups' to your spring to prevent Injury Welcome back spring! We all missed you so much and can’t wait to be outside soaking up every wonderful thing you have to offer. Our bodies are ready for the activity, fresh air, and a healthy level of UV rays. I can’t wait to mulch, bike, plant, 5k, swing, dig ... well, maybe not mulch. As you fly recklessly into your spring favorites and to-do lists, use these tips to care for your body to maximize your efforts and keep you safe.

    April 16, 2014

  • No Internet for blind date checks in Dark Ages A friend posted on her Facebook last week that it was her 23rd anniversary. That number in itself was pretty noteworthy in this day and age, but what made it noteworthy for me was that she was married to a man she met on a blind date.

    April 16, 2014

  • Anything goes at Beef & Boards Eighty years ago native Hoosier Cole Porter wrote the music and lyrics for “Anything Goes.” Six days ago it opened at Beef & Boards dinner theater. The show, which is a fun, music-filled voyage aboard the SS American, proves yet again that there is more than corn in Indiana.

    April 9, 2014

Order Times Sentinel photos


Photos from April 2014

Facebook
Twitter Updates
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide